Tuesday, January 17, 2006

The 1984 Tigers and the Ray Lankford Wing of the Hall of Fame

The folks at Beyond the Boxscore have cobbled together a list of the members of the Ray Lankford Wing of the Hall of Fame. In short, it's those players that had really great careers but aren't quite HOF worthy. And my, oh my, are the 1984 Tigers well represented amongst the 246 members.

C - Lance Parrish (listed as #3 at catcher)
1B - Darrell Evans ( listed as #2 at 3rd base for his career)
2B - Lou Whitaker (#2)
SS - Alan Trammell (#1)
CF - Chet Lemon (#6)
SP - Frank Tanana (#2), Jack Morris (#15)
RP - Willie Hernandez (#29)

And they don't even list Kirk Gibson or Howard Johnson who both have to be damn close with well over 200 career HRs and steals apiece. That's a hell of a lot of great players on 1 team that didn't quite make the Hall. And yes, it's a travesty that Tram isn't in the Hall. It's a travesty that Whitaker couldn't even stay on the ballot. And Jack Morris deserves a little more consideration then he ever receives.


Blogger greatwhitebear said...

You really touched anerve with me on the Jack Morris thing. I agree with Dan Patrick, anyone who was the best pitcher of their decade, as Morris Clearly was, deserves to be in the hall of fame!

Sun Jan 29, 11:51:00 AM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home